British Columbia, Alberta, Saskatchewan and Manitoba comprise the New West Partnership, an economic powerhouse of more than 11 million people with a combined GDP of over $750 billion.

This ambitious agreement represents Canada’s largest interprovincial barrier-free trade and investment market.

New West Partnership

The New West Partnership has been described over the years as the “gold standard” when it comes to economic agreements in Canada. The Governments of British Columbia, Alberta and Saskatchewan came together in April 2010 to create the partnership. Manitoba joined the New West Partnership in November 2016.

The four provinces are committed through this partnership to ongoing collaboration on innovative ways to strengthen the economy of the West. The region is resource-rich, with leading-edge businesses and institutions and international excellence in many areas of advanced technologies. Through the New West Partnership the four provinces are fostering strong, vibrant and lasting prosperity for the region and its people.

Below is a link to the text of the original New West Partnership agreement, which the Premiers of British Columbia, Alberta and Saskatchewan signed at a joint Cabinet meeting in Regina on April 30, 2010.

Related Attachments

New West Partnership Agreement (PDF)
Copyright 2019